Life in Amazin Times: One Year Anniversary Letter

Album-Cover.jpg

Hello Everyone,

I first want to say thank you to every person who worked on a song, inspired a lyric, download the album, streamed one of the singles, or watched one of the videos. While the album was not the life altering moment I was hoping for I am grateful to everyone who took part in it. I hope you enjoyed listening to “Life in Amazin Times” as much as I enjoyed making it.

I evolved a lot as a song writer and as a performer in the course of recording this album. One important lesson I learned is people focus more on the chorus and beat then the lyrics. Take a song like “I’m Awesome” as an example a lot of people have told me they love that song. But the lyrics in the second verse are from an unrelated song and make no sense. While it’s not a song I like myself, I am glad it makes others happy.

One thing I was surprised when playing the album back was the overall optimism of “Life in Amazin Times.”  I found myself in a good space in the winter and spring of last year and was able to write some of the most commercially appealing stuff of my career. I made songs that connected to others, people I would not have meet otherwise and for that am grateful.

The final thing I learned from making my album,  was one of the hardest lessons I’ve ever had to go through.  If you go through a lot of hardship in your life, you think if you get to a certain goal or meet a certain person then everything else will be okay.  Like once you get over the hurdle of that goal or dream your troubles will disappear on the other side. When thinking about this objectively, you know deep down inside that is not really realistic. It is still a mindset I have found in a lot of people I am close to and within myself. For me recording this album was that one goal in my life. I learned that no one person or thing is going to solve all my problems or make my life perfect.

The goal of making life a better experience is in the small moments you have control over and who you decide to give your energy. Not so much in the big events, though they play a part too.

I have also decided that not writing and recording music is not an option for me. The thing that drew me to making music in the first place is it was something I don’t need other people to do. I really enjoy having something that I do that is just for my own happiness. I really enjoy the creative freedom rap music has and while I am not going to attempt something as ambitious as “Life In Amazin Times.” I hope by the end of spring to have something worth sharing with my friends, fans, and detractors.

Your Biggest Fan,

Jimmy ValenTime

P.S.  Feel free to download or stream the album below, if you never have

Band Camp –

http://jimmyvalentime.bandcamp.com

YouTube Playlist –

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9344EEF7AF4C7C5B

Leave a Reply

